Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

EDD context rules for any ancestors with certain attribute

New Here ,
Oct 04, 2018 Oct 04, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I am new to EDD programming, I understand the use of wildcard * in the context rule, like * < chapter.

But what if I want to add a context rule based on if any ancestor has attribute @Deleted User="yes", would something like the following work?

Else, if context is: * [change = ”yes”]

Text range.

Font properties

Color: Forest Green

I have tried the above, importing the EDD seems fine (i.e. FM did not complain it been invalid), but it did not have any effect to the rendered document.

Is there anyway in the EDD that allow me to do this?

Because the above method did not work for me, so I thought I will explicitly list all the possible ancestors that may have @Deleted User=yes, so I tried the following context rule:

Else, if context is: * < (chapter | codechapter | codechapterdivision | codechaptersubdivision | part | division | subdivision | clause | subclause | schedule | subschedule) [change = ”yes”]

Text range.

Font properties

Surprisingly, this did not work either. However, when I reduced the list to just * < (chapter | clause)[change = ”yes”], FM renders the document correctly (i.e. the text becomes green).

Thanks in advance for your help.

Simon.

================================

Just to add that I am using FM 2017 release, version 14.

Message was edited by: Simon

TOPICS
Structured

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,
Oct 05, 2018 Oct 05, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Simon,

I have been successful with context specifications of the form in your second example:

* < (list of elements) [attribute = "value"]