Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Exceptions to the (table) Rule

Community Beginner ,
Aug 17, 2017 Aug 17, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey folks,

I'm relatively new to FrameMaker (done the Lynda course, been doing a few practice documents, transitioning our existing IPCs from Word to FrameMaker 11), and I'm running across a fairly niche situation I haven't found a good solution to yet.

Here's an example of our existing IPC table format in Word:

IPC Sample.PNG

In the table pictured above, there are "Thin" column rules between all of the columns except Fig/Item and the two straddled Effectivity columns. Fairly bog-standard as far as parts catalog tables go, but I'm having a tough time duplicating it in FrameMaker for the following reason:

tabletool.PNG

I am only allowed one exception to the table column format rules, not two or more. Now to be clear, I know about the Custom Ruling and Shading control, but given the number of rows a table like this can have (it can range up to the hundreds) and how often we have to delete/add items to various places in the list, I'd like to avoid them if possible. Is there a way to have two exceptions to the rule instead of one?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 17, 2017 Aug 17, 2017

No, Charles, you need to work within the pattern you set up in table designer (all column rules are thin but the 3rd column rule is none) or use custom ruling and shading. That's just how it works. (Here is where I remind my students that this is a good time to redesign a table to work within FrameMaker's constraints in Table Designer and don't try to fight it because you won't win.)

That said, you might have a bazillion-row table but we are talking about column rules. You can set up the column r

Votes