Exit

Find and Replace Operations on .dita files

Explorer ,
Mar 16, 2018 Mar 16, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I am new to scripting.

But I would have dita maps that point to an absolute destination for each of the xml and dita files and I would like to change these to relative addressing.

I figure that a script might be the right way to do this.

Any alternate suggestions are welcome.

Appreciate it,

Myko

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , Mar 16, 2018 Mar 16, 2018

Thanks Jang,

I have to confess that since I put this question in writing I remembered that I had "GrepWin" on my pc and when I tried it it was able to find and replace the text in all the dita files in the present folder and sub-folders in one go. Now I can port it to my local drive and operate without any trouble... as yet.

Myko

Votes

Translate

Translate
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Myko,

If you have DITA maps you should look into XSLT. That will be much easier than scripting. You could even load the map in FrameMaker XML view and do a search and replace there if the pattern you are replacing is easy enough. In the XML view you can also run an XSLT.

Jang

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks Jang,

I have to confess that since I put this question in writing I remembered that I had "GrepWin" on my pc and when I tried it it was able to find and replace the text in all the dita files in the present folder and sub-folders in one go. Now I can port it to my local drive and operate without any trouble... as yet.

Myko

Votes