• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How can I set an auto-numbered chapter title style outside the left margin?

Community Beginner ,
Aug 14, 2017 Aug 14, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I inherited a suite of documents in FrameMaker 12 that had all the page layouts, paragraphs, and references created. This is my first time working with FM, so I still find the menus a bit confusing. Our corporate branding recently changed, and I need to move the auto-numbering in the Chapter Title style outside of the left margin.

The example below shows how the numbering is currently aligned with the left margin.

I've tried the paragraph designer, master pages, but I can't figure out how to set a negative indent. An anchored frame doesn't seem to be the correct approach, because the content outside the margin is only text. I know how to fix this in Word or CSS, but can't figure it out in FM. Please help.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Aug 14, 2017 Aug 14, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Negative indent is not the solution (I've never treid it, but I suspect it never works, although negative space-above does sometimes).

What you need is to change the page layout to leave room for Side Heads (Format > Page Layout > Column Layout, Room for Side Heads check box and specs).

Then set the Heading to start there (Pagination > (*) Across All Columns and Side Heads).

If you want only the Heading number to be in the SH, you can use the Heading tabs and indents to control that.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more