• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do you apply Reference Page to Table of Contents page?

Explorer ,
Feb 18, 2018 Feb 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have clicked on View-Reference Page and scrolled to the page that pertains to the formatting of the Table of Contents. I make my changes..(Bolded, added a tab, etc). I click on View-Body Page to return to the Table of Contents of the book. I save the work and the click Apply Update to Book. The Table of Contents does not change to what is on the reference page. I have no experience with scripting or the coding that is on the Reference Page. How do I get the changes I made on the Reference Page work?

Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi retiredUSMC2011 ,

It sounds like you did it correctly, so you are very close.

Can you show a screen shot of the TOC reference page? Reference page changes don't take effect until you update the book, so while I know you said you did that, you might try updating the book one more time.

In the meantime, two common mistakes:

1. be sure to assign bold either via the paragraph tag or a character tag, and not by selecting and clicking the Bold button on the toolbar.
  2. there are likely multiple <$paratext> <$pagenum> building blocks on the page. Click in one and glance to the status bar (just below the lower left corner of the document window) to see which paragraph tag you are changing.

And since this is new to you, here are a few resources on creating a TOC in FrameMaker that I've written up for my students over the years:

Adobe FrameMaker: Adding Tabs to a Table of Contents - Rocky Mountain Training