• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I need to change numbering of footnotes in Framemaker

Community Beginner ,
Oct 04, 2017 Oct 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm an editor of an industry journal, and got corrections back from an author. He wanted the numbering of footnotes changed. I've attached a screenshot below; he wants the "17" changed to a "15" but I'm not sure how to do that. I'm hoping I can do this and the numbering is automatically changed for all subsequent footnotes.

By the way, I work primarily in Word, so appreciate any FM help. Thanks!--Andy

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 10, 2017 Oct 10, 2017

There are about 20 separate FrameMaker files, and there is one chapter in each of them

For standalone files, use Format > Document > Numbering > Footnote and set the first footnote number manually.

VMware Fusionss_001.pngVMware Fusionss_002.pngVMware Fusionss_003.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Oct 04, 2017 Oct 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is this is in the middle of a chapter?

If you delete two prior footnotes, FrameMaker will automatically renumber all the footnotes, and 17 will become 15, and 18 becomes 16, etc., assuming the footnotes are set to number consecutively. To remove a footnote, highlight the superscript number in the body of the document and press Delete.

If it's a different scenario, please come back to describe it so that we can help.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Oct 05, 2017 Oct 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied