• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is there a Framemaker Extendscript object model?

Explorer ,
Feb 08, 2018 Feb 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am looking for any information on this topic. I have used FM for decades, but never delved into scripting. Now that I wish to do so, I find that all sorts of Adobe products have object models available, but there does not seem to be anything for FM. I am very new to scripting, as well, so perhaps I am not even asking the right question?

Please assist, if you can?

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Feb 08, 2018 Feb 08, 2018

Yes there is an Object Model for FrameMaker. The most visible representation is in the ExtendScript Tool Kit's Object Model Viewer. You can access it from the ESTK help menu or by simply pressing F1.

omv.png

There is also a PDF file with a great deal of essential FrameMaker information for all Objects, Properties and Methods. However before you get into FrameMaker scripting, you will need to get familiar with JavaScript programming because the core of ExtendScript is a rather elderly version of the popul

Votes

Translate

Translate
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No sure what you mean with object model. Yes of course it has one

if you are asking for "IntelliSense", check the small dropdown right to the debugging Buttons and activate it, if no IntelliSense appears, when you select object model in left dropdown.

If you are asking for help, press F1 for a quick overview and use ExtendScript reference from here:

FrameMaker Developer Center

Hope this helps.

Markus

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines