Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Kindergarten Program

Community Beginner ,
Nov 16, 2016 Nov 16, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good morning,

I have been a Tech Writer for about 3 years now.  I have always used MS Word, and converted to PDF.

I was hired by a new company.  They asked my about my proficiency with Adobe Frame Maker.  I said "What's that?"  They snickered and asked again, and I told them I had never heard of it, let alone used it.  They said it was a core requirement of the position.  We researched, and discovered this requirement had been accidently omitted from the job posting, and nobody caught it during the hiring process.  The manager was exceptionally cool about it, and told me to take a week or two, three if I need it (paid) and teach myself the program.  My thoughts were "How hard can it be, it's just a word processor, right?"  Turns out I am not entirely confident I can rise to "proficient" by self-teaching for three weeks.

Which brings me to my question. Can anyone refer me to some lower level Frame Maker training, perhaps on YouTube?  I have found several that say "intro" or "beginner", but they all seem to focus on "new features", which doesn't help if you didn't know the old feature.  Or they focus on a specific function, rather than the very beginner basics.  i.e. when I learn how to format a paragraph, it would be helpful if I first knew how to create that paragraph before formatting it.

So what I am saying is that I'm learning, but I feel that it is going WAY slower than it needs to.

Snicker away if you'd like <grin> but I need kindergarten stuff here.  I don't want to presume I know anything before starting.  Frame Maker is obviously in a whole different category than Word.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer