Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Open file based on Interface

Community Beginner ,
Aug 15, 2017 Aug 15, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm a fairly novice user of FrameMaker. When I work with fm files (doesn't happen very often) I do so on an already fully complete layout. So technically I don't have to create anything from scratch but rather alter an existing content - for the most part rather minimaly.

I'm aware of FM's interfaces (unstructured, structured and XML) and was wondering:

Can you tell if a project (a file or a set of files/Book) is of structured or unstructured, so that I know in which interface to use before opening a file?

Does it make any difference if I open a structured document in an unstructured FM interface, and vice versa? Can such file still be opened and worked on correctly?

Is there a save bet (default interface choice) that I can use for opening an FM file if I don't know which interface was used origionally?

Thank you

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 15, 2017 Aug 15, 2017

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi BarbBinder,

Thank you so much! it really helped me understand exactly what i needed.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST

We are always happy to help.

~Barb

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Guy,