Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Set font color for specific keywords

Explorer ,
Jan 27, 2021 Jan 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am new to Framemaker so please forgive my lack of knowledge about fm.

I'd like to have an automatic font color assignment for specific words. For example, every time "foo" appears in my text, I'd like it to be automatically colored in red.

I am currently working on a structured Framemaker document inside a book, but I'd like to have the answer for both .fm documents and .xml document, as I'll have to work with those on upcoming projects.

Thanx in advance !

Best regards

Eric

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Adobe Employee , Jan 27, 2021 Jan 27, 2021

What is the use case behind formatting certain words in a particular style? Is it like, let's say a product names? If so, you might want to look at variables. Just define a character style and a variable with the settings and content you need.

That's not so much helpful for post-formatting words, but more useful while authoring:

Like this:

1. Create a character style. Call it any way you want, I picked "product-name" here:

Stefan-Gentz_0-1611768966005.png

2. Create a Variable, for example like this:

Stefan-Gentz_1-1611769016216.png

From now on, when

Votes

Translate

Translate
Advisor , Jan 28, 2021 Jan 28, 2021

Eric,

Stefan's suggestion to use a variable for each product name is a convenient way to obtain the required formatting. It also provides the other advantages of variables (such as preventing typos and making it easy to change all occurrences of a product name if the product is renamed).