Highlighted

Side-Heads

Community Beginner ,
May 08, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to FrameMaker and wanted how best to keep a graphic element in a side-head together with text in the body (eg. creating a warning graphic/note).

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Side-Heads

Community Beginner ,
May 08, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to FrameMaker and wanted how best to keep a graphic element in a side-head together with text in the body (eg. creating a warning graphic/note).

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
May 08, 2019 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
May 08, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The main way to do that is to leave Page Layout » Room for Side Heads in Column Layout (which is a document-wide setting), then set the Paragraph Designer » Pagination properties as desired for elements to be in SH or not.

There are other ways to mimic it, but which to use would depend on output workflow, esp. to HTML.

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
May 08, 2019 0
May 09, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Patricia:

Showing us your specific layout is helpful, but generally speaking I'd say you have two avenues:

1.) Anchor in a side-head paragraph

• Add a new ¶ by pressing Enter above the paragraph you want the image to travel with, and import the image. It will anchor below the current line.

Screen Shot 2019-05-09 at 6.50.25 AM.png

• Select the frame and shrinkwrap—tap Esc m p sequentially (one character at a time, not all the same time). This tightens the frame to fit the graphic and anchors at insertion point.

Screen Shot 2019-05-09 at 6.50.34 AM.png

• Assign a paragraph tag with a side head attribute to the ¶.