• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

TOC formattting issue

New Here ,
Feb 01, 2011 Feb 01, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using framemaker for over 10 years, and I have a nagging problem in TOC's.

Give that you want standard toc's such as:

1.1 Introduction........................................1.3

Simply put, when you generate your TOC in a  book, there may be times when the "paratext" is quite long and it causes the text to get to close to the page number or even wraps over to the next line.

For example:

1.1 Introduction to Framemaker 9.0 basics1.3

1.1 The small brown fox jumped over the b

arrel1.1

How can we set up the heading1TOC parastyle to maintain a distance from the page number and if the paratext is to long, wrap to the next line and put the page number on the far right side.

my basic heading1toc style is set as follows:

Tab stops: 1.375 left

6.25 right (with leader ....)

on the reference pages,  the heading1toc is

<$paranum> <$paratext>.................<$pagenum>

How can I set it to always "wrap" the text, say for example, when it reachs 6.00 inch so the above example would result in

1.1 Introduction to Framemaker 9.0 basics...1.3

arrel....................................................1.3

Anybody have a solution?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Guide , Feb 01, 2011 Feb 01, 2011

I do not believe you read all the way to the end of the thread, especially MY contribution. My method does NOT require adding tabs or spaces to the reference pages, with the exception of the one tab that right-justifies the page number. My method requires only a change to the TOC paragraph formats...very simple.