Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Trying to open existing documents for editing freezing FrameMaker

Explorer ,
Apr 25, 2016 Apr 25, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

How do I fix this issue? I can create new documents, and locked documents I can open in "view only", but I can't (locked or unlocked) fully open for editing any documents. I have a subscription for the tech suite, so I'm on the newest version of FM. Am I just going to have to uninstall/reinstall?

Thanks in advance.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Where are the docs located? Do you have rights to the folder? If the doc is locked, is someone else editing it or is it getting locked & not releasing the lock?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The docs are located on my local hard drive. Nobody else is editing the documents (I'm the only one with the software - the locked documents got locked from freezing during opening, but when they got locked it allowed me to open in "view only", which worked). I have full rights since it is my local machine (in the default Documents folder - running Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit) and I'm an admin.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So if you exit out of FM, go to the docs location & delete the files with .lck on them; what happens when you start FM up & open them?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied