• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Working docbook sample/example, keep getting internal errors and crashes

New Here ,
Aug 01, 2018 Aug 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am completely new to structured authoring and trying to evaluate FM with regards to how it can help me with xml authoring that will be based on a given xml schema. As a starting point, I am trying to create an xdocbook sample as a single xml file (with <book> as the top element) having a very basic structure(a basic bookinfo, preface and some chapters with sections).

When trying to use the template provided by FM (File--> New Document--> XML_Templates--> xDocBook.xml) I cannot create a working sample since I keep getting internal errors and the application crashes. I have updated FM to Version 14.0.4.511 (please note that I am using a trial FM version) but the only difference is with the error codes returned. It seems that the crashes occur when FM tries to convert (for some reason) the xml to the equivalent FM counterparts.

Is there a working sample or even better a tutorial available that could help me in this situation?

Thank you very much in advance.

TOPICS
Structured

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 01, 2018 Aug 01, 2018

You'll likely get more response by posting this in the Structured FrameMaker forum.

To get started with authoring and working with EDDs you can pick up my two structured authoring workbooks at http://techcommtools.com/books/

I've used them for many years to teach structured authoring to live and online audiences.

They'll walk you through using elements in a structured environment, and setting up a basic content model in structured FrameMaker.

-Matt

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,