• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe CEP and modern frameworks.

Engaged ,
Oct 17, 2019 Oct 17, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First, my apologies if this posted to the wrong forum. It seems the "new" CEP forum has already disappeared after just two years (or less, most likely).

Now I have successfully created an Adobe CEP extension, but it was a very simple one and I was able to do so with just simple HTML and JavaScript. I did manage to get TypeScript working with it (both in the js and the jsx contexts), but it was still mostly meant as a means for me to get my feet wet with CEP and TypeScript.

I now have a much larger project. One that is at least two or three of orders of magnitude larger.

I would still like to leverage TypeScript on this project and use OOP principles (of which I am still learning as I go), but I also see that it might be helpful to also leverage a framework so I won't have to reinvent the wheel when it comes to many common actions.

For example, I'll need this panel to interact with a MySQL database. Now, I could just add the mysql JavaScript driver and code its implementation by hand (I did this with the Java app that I created a few years ago, which is what this CEP extension will be replacing). However, it might be more beneficial to use an ORM such as Sequelize or, more likely, TypeORM since it leverages TypeScript.

Doing more research, I thought that perhaps I may even want to use LoopBack, as it does even more stuff than just an ORM and even resembles something close to Laravel, which is a PHP framework with which I am quite familiar. So I then thought about frameworks and thought that React or (more likely) Angular might be something I could go with since they have even more tools out-of-the-box I could leverage to help build this extension.