• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Area type tool does not work

New Here ,
Jul 09, 2018 Jul 09, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, and thank you for helping me out. I am new to Illustrator CC 2018.

I was trying to use the area type tool with a picture of adobe stock and this message appears: "You must click on a non-compound, non-masking path to create a text inside a path". The same happens with Vertical Area, Type on a Path and Vertical Type on a Path tools. I had used other versions of Illustrator before and never had a problem with this, I've just installed Creative Cloud recently.

I was trying to find the same issues inside the forum but I did not find anything related to this version of Illustrator.

I would appreciate any information you could provide.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , Nov 15, 2018 Nov 15, 2018

Hey! I was just now struggling with the same issue as you and was looking everywhere to try and figure out why I was getting that error message you mentioned.  I ended up realizing that after I had selected the Area Type Tool, I was trying to click inside the shape.  After watching a video tutorial, I noticed they clicked directly on the border of the shape.  Such a simple thing I totally missed.  I don't know if this will solve your issue, but it worked for me!

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can try this :

1) Create a Rectangle (using the Rectangle Tool).

2) Select the Area Type Tool and click on the Rectangle.

It should create an Area Type (filled with Lorem Ipsum text).

Does it work ?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines