• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Artwork turned to an image

New Here ,
Jun 08, 2022 Jun 08, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am relatively new to illustrator but have caught onto it pretty quick. The issue that I am having is that I created a logo using shapes, colors, gradients, effects, etc. exported it to a .PNG file. Closed the file and let it sit for a week or so. Opened the .PNG file and it had a white background that was not there before, weird right? So I opened the project file and all my artwork is now a single image layer. I did not change it to this and need to edit the shapes and linework, but I am unable to. Does anyone know why this would have done this and how to get my layers and artwork back without having to recreate it from scratch?

Thanks

-Rob

TOPICS
Bug , Draw and design , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The PNG file is a raster file and it's expected that you cannot edit it.

As for your project file - it would be necessary to know what exactly you have been doing and how exactly you have saved and then opened and then saved this.

If you go into Outline view, are there paths?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I know that I cannot edit the PNG file. I was just pointing out that it has changed to a white background even after I have used it with a transparent background.

So for the project file, I took a sketch from a client, traced it with paths, colored, added gradients, added effects, and added text.

Then I exported it out as a PNG with a transparent background.