• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I create two shapes with a shared border?

Explorer ,
May 05, 2023 May 05, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I just started learning Illustrator so I set myself the challenge of a 2 colour triangle.

857537CC-C59E-4325-8FB7-2C783C90D314.png

This is a red triangle with a yellow semi circle placed on a higher layer. 

But with a future project in mind, I really wanted to create it like a patchwork - two shapes sharing a border. Like this picture, but with extra tweaking to get the edges to align. 
8371D0E0-2369-4946-A723-F2BFF7FF4241.jpeg
Tutorials that I have watched so far only demonstrate overlapping shapes on different layers.  Am I just thinking about this in the wrong way with my patchwork quilt concept or is there some tool/technique I have yet to discover?

TOPICS
Draw and design , How-to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 05, 2023 May 05, 2023

You could try Live Paint, you only need to draw a border once (can even be an invisible no stroke border), it does not have to be a closed object and use the Live Paint Bucket to fill the areas on both sides of the border.

https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/using/live-paint-groups.html

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you create two overlapping objects as in your first example, you can select them both an click Divide in the Pathfinder panel.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,