• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to change the colour of a segment of a path

New Here ,
Dec 06, 2021 Dec 06, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Bit of an illustrator newbie here. I'm trying to colour the jumper black, but I therefore want the lines around the jumper section to be white so they contrast. 

Here's the original:

Screenshot (2).png

And here's as far as I've gotten, feel like I'm just going in circles now!

Screenshot (3).png

TIA

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The "wrinkles" are not stroked paths, they are filled paths. You've applied white stroke, but their black fill remains.

You haven't explained how you've gone about filling the jumper with black, but using the same method, you should be able to fill the wrinkles with white.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How would I go about it from the original? 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I just used direct selection and filled with black and changed the stroke colour to white to get the black jumper. But that clearly didn't work :')

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How would I go about it from the original? 

I suspect you acquired the graphic by some means, as opposed to constructing it yourself, but in either case, one approach may be favorable over another depending on how it was constructed in the first place. Here's what I'd try first: