• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to Drastically Reduce PDF Size with Patterns?

New Here ,
Jul 02, 2020 Jul 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys,

I see so many posts about this but I never see an answer that works.

I am a graphic designer for a small company and I make presentations in Adobe Illustrator 2020.

Here's my issue- My files are enormous. Some people say there files are huge but they are like 24MB. The one I am working with is 260.4MB. Ideally it would need to be under 10 or 15MB to send in email. I know that is asking A LOT.

The file is 6 pages 8.5 x 11in. artboards. Attached is one of the artboards. They include type, jpg images, vector shapes and patterns. Something about patterns makes files huge but I need to use patterns. Am I making patterns wrong? Object> pattern> make.

Is there an option in there to make patterns not take up so much file space?

Screen Shot 2020-07-02 at 3.46.09 PM.png

 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 02, 2020 Jul 02, 2020

You can try if saving a copy (important!!!) as PDF and then unchecking "Illustrator editability" makes it smaller.

But that is basically it. There are just an awful lot of paths in your file and I suppose there are also large images and the like.

So maybe exporting the artboards as raster files in a barely sufficient resolution will make smaller files. You can automatically rasterize the complete page by forcing a specific transparency flattening when exporting.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jul 02, 2020 Jul 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied