Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

how to remove the checkered background to leave image transparent

Explorer ,
Apr 26, 2022 Apr 26, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi I am brand new to Adobe Illustrator,

Hence a newbie question. I have purchased an .ai file from Adobe stock and want to know if I can remove the checkered background to leave the clouds transparent ?  Is this possible and if so could it be explained in baby steps super easy to follow for me.

Thanks so much to all.

Rob

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Apr 26, 2022 Apr 26, 2022

Looks good!

The square is the artboard.

Take the artboard tool and enlarge it, so that it covers all the clouds you want to use. That is important for importing the artwork into a different application or for printing.

The artboard looks white, but in fact is transparent.

Since you won't be able to see the clouds on a white artboard, you can turn on the transparency grid.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Apr 26, 2022 Apr 26, 2022

You could export this as a transparent PNG (PNG 24)

Or you could even export it as a PSD (keeping main layers - which might or might not work, depending on the details)

Alternatively: Place the AI file in Photoshop as a Smart Object.

Whichever seems most appropriate for your workflow.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Rob,

You can try to expand the Layer(s) in the Layers panel and see whether it shows the chequered background at the bottom of the same Layer as the clouds or in a lower Layer.

You may very well need a background (colour), or the artwork may look funny.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines