• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to revert outline stroke to normal path editing mode?

New Here ,
Nov 08, 2016 Nov 08, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey! So I'm new at this whole illustrator thingy and i have a question:

I wanted to edit a stroke I've drawn with the drawing tool, and selected Object > Path > Outline Stroke.

After doing so it seemed like i was able to edit the outline of the stroke, but i couldn't figure it out how to revert it to normal path editing mode.

Anyone could help?

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Nov 09, 2016 Nov 09, 2016

Like I said, you cannot revert the Outline stroke command.

Like Jacob suggested, if you want to modify the stroke contour, use the Width tool instead.

stroke.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Participant , Aug 15, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

Hi.

There IS a way though, to get a path back. It won't be exactly the same but almost the same.

1. You have a path with a stroke. This is the situation in the first image: a path with a coloured stroke.
  2. Go to 'Object > Path > Outline Stroke' to outline it, which is what you did and what you can see in the second image: this is a path with a coloured fill.
  3. If you close the file and then decide you want the stroke back, you will need to do something else. Go to 'Object > Path > Offset Path. Choose the

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You cannot revert the command. Once outlined it has become a path instead of a stroke.

If you did not save the file maybe you can select undo a couple of times to get back to the stroke.

Votes

Translate

Translate