How to select paths with no name in sublayers?

New Here ,
May 18, 2022 May 18, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new in scripting and I want to refer to paths in sublayers. But there are a lot of kind of the same files so we can't give al the paths a name. Is there an option to refer to them while they still have no name? Actually we need all the rectangle paths in two sublayers(NORZIP and COVZIP) inside SHOW_HIDE mainlayer. We have code to select all rectangles in the mainlayer but we can't specify to only select the rectangles in the two sublayers. Afterwards we want to resize the rectangles, some lay down and some are standing so we have to make a difference between these two. It will already be helpfull if we can select only the rectangles we need.
Thanks in advance

var idoc = app.activeDocument;  
var vars = idoc.variables; 
var myLayer = idoc.layers ["SHOW_HIDE"];
    var mySublayer = myLayer.layers ["NORZIP"];
    var mySublayer2 = myLayer.layers["COVZIP"];

//alert(mySublayer);
//alert(mySublayer2);

idoc.selection=null;
for (var i = 0; i < idoc.pathItems.length; i++)
{
    var ipath=idoc.pathItems[i]
    if(ipath.width<40 && ipath.width>39)
    {
        ipath.selected=true;
    }
}
for (var i = 0; i < idoc.pathItems.length; i++)
{
    var ipath=idoc.pathItems[i]
    if(ipath.height<40 && ipath.height>39)
    {
        ipath.selected=true;
    }
}

script_paths.png

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

You can add check whethere it is pathItem or compoundPathItem. Something like

var _item = app.selection[0]
if(_item.constructor.name == 'PathItem'){
    //Select Item
    alert('Select Item here');
}

Since in my code, item is alreday selected, I show alert. So, you need to add extra if to check type.