• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to show updates to Illustrator IDE immediately (C++ Plugin using SDK)

Explorer ,
Jul 14, 2022 Jul 14, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm developing an Illustrator plugin in C++. I'm also very new to C++ programming and relatively new to programming Illustrator.

I'm trying to understand how to get the IDE to show the updates as they are made. For example, I'm creating new documents, artboards and copying artwork to them all programatically, but as I use debug to step through the code after each of the functions mentioned above, I see no changes in the IDE. I have to go through the entire code to see any updates. The behavior that I'm expecting is that when my code creates a new document, add an artboard, copy artwork, they are seen immediately.

I'm thinking that it's timing and wondering if there is a need for threading? Best case is, it's simply a refresh of some kind that can be done to update the IDE after each function step?

Can anyone offer some insight on this and is my description of the issue enough for you to understand what's happening?

Regards,

Kazon

TOPICS
SDK

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Guide , Jul 16, 2022 Jul 16, 2022

I think I've run into the problem you're encountering, but I'm not 100% sure. Still, it's worth trying my workaround.

Basically -- at least in my case -- the problem was that I needed to let Illustrator take a beat before continuing with the save. The trick was tro create a zero duration timer, something like:

ai::int32 delay = 0;
AITimerHandle timer = nullptr;
auto error = sAITimer->AddTimer(pluginRef, "name_of_timeer", delay, &timer);
// check errror