• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Illustrator v24 Flatten or merge everything to make a single object on a single layer.

New Here ,
Jun 03, 2022 Jun 03, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Illustrator V24

Windows 10

Hello

This is my first question here so I hope some on can help.

I am new to Illustrator and slowly learning but I have hit a brick wall with this issue so need to ask.

I have built 5 complicated shapes using a combination of box shapes, lines and the paint brush tool.

They are all the same colour.

I am sure there is a correct way to do it but I am not there yet and I have been able to get the design I want.

The issue is that Illustrator has placed every single thing I did on it's own layer meaning I now have around 80+ layers for each of the five shapes..

I want to combine or merge, or what ever the illustrator equilvent is to make each shape one solid object preferably on the same single layer.

I have spent the last two days watching every tutorial on youtube and google searching but nothing has provided the answer to my situation.

Can anyone assist?

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Mentor ,
Jul 01, 2022 Jul 01, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is destructive, so do a Save As.

Isolate each layer, then Select All, convert strokes to outlines, select all click on Merge in Pathfinder, then Trim in Pathfinder. This should isolate every single item on your page irrespective of if it was in a group, compound path or clipping mask.