• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is THIS just a simple shape/object with an image as a "texture" fill?

Community Beginner ,
Mar 15, 2022 Mar 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

TomkatDF1_0-1647354508988.png

So, this is apparently an Illustrator file...
As a relative newbie, I'm strying to figure out how this was accomplished.
A "live trace" for something like this would generate THOUSANDS of paths/anchors, and not look nearly this good.  Is this just a simple shape/object in the shape of the skull outline, with an image as a "texture?"

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Do you have the file? If so, you can start to see how the file was set up by looking at the Layers panel (Window > Layers) and the Appearance panel (Window > Appearance).

There are likely a variety of combined techniques used to achieve this look possibly including 

Also, more advanced effects may be created using the Astute Graphics plugins.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Unfortunately, I do not have the file.
The only reason I ask is that it looks for like a PHOTOSHOP object than an Illustrator (which always I always assumed looked more animated/cartoonish)  The detail on the skull looks photo-realistic, which makes me believe it is a texture, rather than a bunch of individual paths.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied