• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need to expand the size of a line. But only from one side of the line, not both

Community Beginner ,
Mar 02, 2023 Mar 02, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone.  So just like the title says.  I need to expand the size of a line.  But I don't want it to expand from both sides.  I only want one side of the line to expand, not both sides.  I'm very new to illustrator and I've done a lot of suffering haha.  But I'm learning some cool stuff.  But this one seems to be tough.  I tried doing a path offset and then just getting rid of the outside but it gets a little complex with my design.  Please help lol

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 02, 2023 Mar 02, 2023

Hi @Shogun Customs its not technically accurate but using the Width Tool while holding Alt allows you to expand a stroke in one direction only:

kevinstohlmeyer_0-1677788927698.png

I had to select each point to alt+drag up to move vertically off the guide.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I may not understand it correctly, but does dragging an anchor point with the Direct Selection tool (A) work?

Or using the Transform panel with the Reference Point?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I posted a screenshot in the comment down below.  I'm not sure about how to use the transform panel with a reference point but I'm gonna look into that right now.  Thank you

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines