• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Paintbrush Tool always changes to "Denim Seams"

New Here ,
Sep 18, 2020 Sep 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using Illustrator since 2016 and have always had this issue no matter what version of Illustrator I use. I've ignored it until now and would opt for the blob brush instead or just Pen tool it, but for this project, I unfortunately need the paintbrush tool and maybe its time to finally figure out what this issue is for once and for all. I'll try to be as descriptive as possible.

I am currently using Illustrator 2020 version 24.3. I'm on a pc using a Wacom 13HD Pen Display. 

I select the Paintbrush Tool, set my brush profile to "Uniform" and select "Basic" from the Brush Library. With my Wacom pen, I draw a stroke and the line changes to the "Denim Seams" preset. I attempt the same with my mouse and the stroke, again, swaps to "Denim Seams". I can change the stroke to "Basic" like intended, but its pretty annoying to do this throughout the project. All I want is to simply draw a Basic line with the Paintbrush tool.

Things I have tried:

• deleting "Denim Seams" - unfortunately I get a little stop sign when the paintbrush tool is selected so I can no longer use the paintbrush tool until I undo deleting Denim Seams.
  • Restarting Illustrator - problem persists
  • Restarting my pc - problem persists

TOPICS
Bug , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 18, 2020 Sep 18, 2020

"I select the Paintbrush Tool, set my brush profile to "Uniform" and select "Basic" from the Brush Library."

"Basic" is NOT a brush. "Basic" deletes an exsting brush from the path.

The paintbrush tool will always use a brush when drawing. Automatically.