• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photo file deleted after saving in .svg format

Community Beginner ,
Mar 20, 2019 Mar 20, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Illustrator, so I feel like I'm missing something really basic here, or doing something in a way that is not kosher.

I want to combine vector files with a photo overlay in an svg I will then save, so I copy and paste the photo into the .ai file, it shows up in my layer, all is well. At this point, I embed the photo. I then "Export">"Export As", and choose SVG, using Artboards. I select "Presentation Attributes", "Convert to Outlines" (moot), "Embed", Minimal, 2, Minify, Responsive, then click OK. Every time, the photo file is then deleted from my hard drive. After a few moments, AI will ask me to replace the file (or if I save the .ai file and re-open it). What am I doing wrong that the photo files are being deleted from my hard drive?

Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 25, 2019 Mar 25, 2019

Dont forget to report it here (with a link to this post):

Adobe Illustrator Feedback

It will bring it to the attention of Adobe Illustrator engineers.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Mar 21, 2019 Mar 21, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Without actual system info and details like where you are saving nobody can really tell you much, but on a hunch I'd say it's perhaps that old gag of using the same file name, but without a file type extension on a Mac? Just guessing here, but perhaps that's the simple answer to your conundrum. Anything more will require some technical information.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines