Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Selecting Object doesn't select whole layer

Explorer ,
Jan 23, 2023 Jan 23, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I should preface this by saying I'm still relatively new to Illustrator.

I've got a document I update from time to time - it contains a group shot of avatars representing real people.

I did a Christmas variation and added Santa hats in November, which was fine - though a rush job so I did all the hats in a separate layer.

Now - I've realised it would be easier to put the hats in the same layers as the avatars so it's easier to move them together when the order changes etc. 

However, when I click one of the avatars, it only selects the avatar and not both layers with the main layer.

I've tried grouping them, but that seems to throw the order of the objects.

It seems different to how I've done things before, and I can't put my finger on why.

It's similar to the option in Photoshop to select the layer rather than the group.

I've also just noticed that when I click on the hat to select it, it doesn't select all the objects in that layer - so I'm assuming that's related, but as they're not locked I can't understand why.

If anyone can point me in the right direction I'd be very grateful!

Thanks,

Rick

2023-01-23_095227.png

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 23, 2023 Jan 23, 2023

In the example above your whole "rick" layer is selected, but only the "hat <group> " sublayer is targeted.

The confusion around sublayers, groups and objects might add to this issue.