• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Very strange but cool alteration of still image...what happened?

Community Beginner ,
Feb 12, 2023 Feb 12, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone,

Very strange request here, as a complete novice on Illustrator. I'm a Premiere Pro editor and usually export some stills into Illustrator to turn into posters, adding text etc., but something very weird and cool happened when I imported my latest still - it went from this...

Screenshot 2023-02-10 at 16.41.29.jpg

...to this:

Asset 2.jpg

And I have absolutely no idea why! But I like it so much that I want to incorporate the look into the RAW footage colour grade, only I have no idea how to go about finding what Illustrator has done to it to make it look like that! The original is just a PNG file, and the only thing I can think of that triggered a change is that I opened my previous 'Poster Project' and replaced a previous still with this one, and it must have somehow interpreted it differently? Even though the previous still used in the project had no changes or effects on it. I cannot replicate the shift for the life of me!

Any help would be massively appreciated!

Many thanks,

Garry

TOPICS
Draw and design , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 12, 2023 Feb 12, 2023

lustrator does not read or write color profiles in PNG files.

It will assume the color profile of the Illustrator document you place it in.

You can check the Illustrator document profile in Edit > Assign Profile or at the bottom of your document window:

Doc profile.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,