Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Able to change font with a variable?

New Here ,
Mar 07, 2019 Mar 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey Guys

I'm pretty new to all this so please forgive my ignorance I'm currently working on a project using java Variable-importer, Create Command Layer and Recolor scripts to create the needed artwork from a excel spreadsheet but the text on the artwork needs to be different fonts and I currently have to manually change all the fonts and cant seem to figure this part out. I was wondering if it was even possible to change the font of text using a variable in illustrator with scripting?

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Valorous Hero , Mar 08, 2019 Mar 08, 2019

This looks good, let's invent a new convention to have the "_text" and "_font" go after variable names. Have those appear after the variable columns you wish, but ensure that the name part of the column name is spelled the same. The method will be to keep working along the same lines as the recolor workflow but use a new script to also post-process the datasets during your batch action.

But before doing much, we must establish the special computer-friendly font-names that your computer uses so

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Valorous Hero ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's possible with custom script that you also run at data-set processing time.

But first do you have any screenshots of what kind of art you have that needs to be variable?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey Silly-V