• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Art Board Size Selection

New Here ,
Nov 28, 2020 Nov 28, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello. I am new to Illustrator and am very confused by art board size and how to decide what size board I need. I am creating vector cartoons. Does the size of my art board make any difference at all in terms of what my final printed size can be? And if not, can you help me understand why I would choose one size board over another?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you create vector cartoons, they will be scalable to any size.

But if you know at what size they will print, make that print size the size of your artboards.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks Ton. I do understand that vector cartoons will size up and down for printing without problems so what I'm confused about is why then would you suggest starting with an artboard at the size I plan to print at. I just don't understand the relation one has to the other.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Look at artboards as an equivalent to pieces of paper, some can be used to sketch ideas, some can be used to create the final artwork.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Nov 29, 2020 Nov 29, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

"why then would you suggest starting with an artboard at the size I plan to print at."