• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Attempting to remove part of a circle - and going slowly insane

New Here ,
May 29, 2021 May 29, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all - I am new to Illustrator and giving a friend a hand with a logo for their new business.

I have been trying in vain to remove part of a circle for ages now and can't seem to get it to work, not sure what I need to be doing instead. From googling and watching tutorials from what I can see I should be using the Pathfinder window and the 'Minus-front' selection to get rid of the selected portion I am trying to lose but it just transforms the circle path (I've attached images to illustrate my problem) - so I'm trying to cut out the circle that is where the digger bucket intersects but can't figure out how to do it.

First image show which portion I want to remove - the black solid circle from the inside circle line to reveal the digger bucket. The second image shows what happens when I use the 'Minus-front' option in Pathfinder. Any assistance would be hugely appreciated to get the effect I want.

Screen Shot 2021-05-30 at 3.20.25 PM.pngScreen Shot 2021-05-30 at 3.20.34 PM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

LEGEND , May 29, 2021 May 29, 2021

Start by checking your object/ layer order and which items are actually selected. Also from the result one would have to conclude that you are "hacking" it, no offense, and are using strokes instead of actually filled areas. So technically the result is correct, but of course visually wrong. You would have to start by expanding the appearance on the stroke to convert it to an actual compound path with a fill and then to the cutting. Additional tweaks may be necessary, but to reiterate: It matter

Votes

Translate

Translate