• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Blob brush not working properly with Wacom Intuos Pro

Community Beginner ,
Mar 13, 2021 Mar 13, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm an illustrator and the main way that I use my Wacom Intuos Pro M (model PTH-660) is with the Blob Brush tool in Adobe Illustrator. I utilise a lot of dotwork/pointillism in my work and usually that means that, ideally, when I draw a dot with Blob Brush, with the pen pressure settings on and the size variation set to maximum, the dot changes size depending how much pressure I put on the pen.

My problem is that all of a sudden, when I draw a dot, the dot is a uniform size and shape in line with the brush size, unaffected by pen pressure. Instead of a pressure-sensitive dot, I basically get a circle. If I draw (using Blob Brush), the pen pressure works fine, if I move my pen a tiny bit while drawing a dot the pen pressure works. This problem only occurs when making dots using Blob Brush (note that I don't use the regular Paintbrush or Calligraphic brushes ever, but I do like to set them to use pen pressure just in case). This issue is rather annoying.

Recently, the pen pressure settings for the Blob Brush were greyed out, so I decided to check if I needed a driver update. I have Adobe Illustrator 2020, running on macOS Mojave version 10.14.6. I updated the Wacom driver to 6.3.42-1. In the Wacom preferences, the dot-pressure functionality works as it should, so this seems to be a problem with Adobe Illustrator.

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Mar 13, 2021 Mar 13, 2021