• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can anyone help me get my Color settings set up properly because I'm going crazy here!

New Here ,
Apr 08, 2021 Apr 08, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi. 

I'm sure this has been asked numerous times but I've been searching for an answer for nearly 2 weeks and I'm begining to lose my mind...

I'm quite new to using Illustrator and I'm slowly getting there, but the one thing I can't seem to get right are my colour settings. I'm constantly getting dialogue boxes warning me of colour profile mismatches and working space issues and I have no idea how to fix it. It got so bad last week that I uninstalled every piece of Adobe software (and all settings) in order to start afresh but I'm still having issues.

I use an iMac (running Big Sur 11.2.3) to run Illustrator and Photoshop. Before I reinstalled any of the Adobe software I thought it best to calibrate my monitor is best as possible. Unfortunately, since the latest Mac OS update, my Spyder 4 no longer works on Mac OS so I had to just use the built in monitor calibration software. Not perfect but the best I could do at this time. Once calibrated I saved the profile as 'Marks Calibration April 2021'. I then redownloaded Creative Cloud, Illustrator, Photoshop and Bridge.

The first thing I did when opening Illustrator for the first time (after setting up my workspace) was to check the color settings. I set the working space for RGB as Adobe RGB 1998 and CMYK as US Web Coated (SWOP) v2 (not that I ever get anything printed). I then saved this profile as 'Default Colour Space'. (See image 1)03.jpg

I then made a blank document and saved it to use as a template for all future work.

I thought that was it. All done. I thought that very time I opened this template file that these colour settings would be there. I was wrong.