• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

can't manipulate text in illustrator

New Here ,
May 03, 2020 May 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a newbie so the answer is hopefully obvious. I used to be able to edit text, not well but I could do the basics with a simple font. I did the tutorials, Ive watched youtube videos, but lately i cant even grab the text.

1. I write some text 

2. i create an outline of the text so it has a path i can grab.

3. i use the direct selection tool like everyone else but it doesnt do anything, ive grabbed onto the line itself, a point, an anchor but it either just grabs the whole word, just the letter or part of the letter. i want to be able stretch the letter down and around town.

ive watched all the videos and no one is doing anything different, i zoom in and be precise and nothing. 

thanks

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sorry, but oulined text is not longer text. It is a graphic now. Not longer editable text.

If you have no backup of your file - you have to create your text with the Type Tool again.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

corngubbles,

From another (possible) interpretation of the word editable, if you mean changing the shape/appearance of one or more letters:

You ought to be able to Alt/OptionClickDrag over part(s) of the letter(s) you wish to select in full with the Direct Selection Tool.