• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Change spot color and move to specific layer

Community Beginner ,
Apr 26, 2018 Apr 26, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new with scripting in Illustrator but see a need to script some repetitive tasks.

I start with a document that has most art on Layer 15 colored with various spot colors

I need to select all strokes of a specific color, change it to another color and move it to a different sub layer.

Layer 15

all art

Template layer

Cut

Bleed

Score

Can someone please get me started with the commands? I picked up on others who were moving items to different layers, but not changing colors also.

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 08, 2018 Aug 08, 2018

should be something like:

repeat with curItem in selectedObjects

move curItem to beginning of layer "Dimension" of myDoc

end repeat

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome, Ed.

Nice to see a familiar 847 and 630 area code out in the wild. i'm an inhabitant of the western burbs as well. 😃

To begin answering your question, I'll point you in the direction of the official Adobe Illustrator Scripting guides. There's lots of great documentation here that gives you, at the very least, a quick peek into the inner workings of Adobe's scripting API's. You have a choice between Javascript, Applescript and VBS. My personal opinioin is that you ought to skip right over AS and VBS due to the limited access to the API as well as cross platform compatibility issues. Additionally, i don't know how to help with either of those languages, so that's also a large portion of my motivation to encourage the use of JavaScript. 😃