• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating a frame around a text box?

New Here ,
Sep 13, 2009 Sep 13, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Illustrator (I'm running CS4 on a Mac) and I'm creating what is essentially an organization chart. (It's actually something more of a decision tree, but that's not important.)

I've searched some other forums and I discovered the Area Type Options. I'm using that to create 6 pixels of inset spacing between my text and the outside of the text box. Now, I'd like to have a 1 or 2 point frame drawn automatically around the text box. One place told me to go to Object > Text Frame. However, when I highlight the text box and go to Object there is not Text Frame option (either available or grayed out).

It doesn't seem that I should have to manually go through the work of drawing a rectangle around every text frame.

Can someone point me in the right direction to have Illustrator make the blue (electronic) frame into a real visible one?

Thank you in advance,

Bflat Blues

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Sep 13, 2009 Sep 13, 2009

Select the text object.

Use the Appearance Palette to add a new fill or add a new stroke.

Select the added fill or stroke in the Appearance list.

Drag it to below the Contents listing. Leave it selected.

Effect>ConvertToShape. Make the desired settings in the resulting dialog.

JET

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Select the text object.

Use the Appearance Palette to add a new fill or add a new stroke.

Select the added fill or stroke in the Appearance list.

Drag it to below the Contents listing. Leave it selected.

Effect>ConvertToShape. Make the desired settings in the resulting dialog.

JET

Votes

Translate