• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating vector images from bitmaps

New Here ,
Jul 24, 2019 Jul 24, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello I am sure that there is no short answer to this, but I will give you a bit of background first.

I work as an embroider and offer vinyl printing services, plus other clothing printing.  Sometimes I have embroidery files which a customer wants to then also have as a print option but much larger.

I have a dedicated vector software package for my plotter but not as good as illustrator. 

Lets say using a standard trace method does not give very good results, where do you start in recreating a logo for printing?  Text particularly if you do not have the font?  Is it a case of manipulating nodes individually? 

The reason I ask is that I end up sending a lot of artwork away to be converted to vector.  It comes back looking great, just costs a bit to do.

In simple terms what is the starting point for recreating a logo, where you have a low quality image to work from?

Thanks

Marcus

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For a logo in most cases autotracing is not a good idea. Especially if this gets blown up really big.

For text there is only one good option: get the font, do the typesetting and then convert to outlines. The other way would be to reconstruct the text. But really: you don't want to do that. It will cost you more than buying the font would.

Moving anchors and handles around after having autotraced something will most of the time take longer than just starting from scratch.

If you are interested in vector building methods I would recommend Von Glitschka's book resp. trainigs.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines