Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Cropping with Shape Builder tool help

New Here ,
Jan 18, 2017 Jan 18, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to Illustrator, self taught and mostly it's going well but I've just come across I problem I don't know how to solve! I've done a bunch of animal illustrations and have drawn them by using the shape builder tool a lot (having seen how to do so in a youtube video tutorial). I'm about to start printing these animals as posters but notice that where I have cropped by using the shape builder tool there is a ever so slight line from the shape underneath, I will add images to explain. My question is, will this be shown when I print?

1. Is the bottom of a mouse

2. I have pulled out the darker brown top layer

3. I have marked the lighter bottom layer and the darker top layer

4. I have divided the left bit of the darker top layer using shape builder tool

5. Is the mouse bottom after I deleted the left layer

6. Is a close up of the top layer where I can see just a glimmer of the lighter bottom layer...(actually can't see it that well here but when I look at it in Illustrator I definitely can see it)

Is this something that will show in print? If so does anyone have a better workflow? It's super handy to make a layer on top of the other and then just cut off the excess bits but not if it will look dodgy when I print it...hmmm...any help is very much appreciated!

Kind regards Leia

Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 10.49.34.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-18 at 10.49.53.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-18 at 10.50.07.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-18 at 10.50.44.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-18 at 10.50.53.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-18 at 10.59.35.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advisor , Jan 18, 2017 Jan 18, 2017