• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Decimal points rounding in illustrator. Does it keep the actual number?

New Here ,
Apr 09, 2020 Apr 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I am new to Illustrator and using it only to make shaped for a CNC Hand Held Router.

Here is my silly question.

I want to create a circle of .21875 (7/32") on a basic rectangle I am setting up.

When I go back to it the size is: .219

I have read that Illustrator only does this on screen but keeps the intended size ( .21875 ) to use.

I have also read that is not true.

My questions are to clarify if Illustrator rounds up but keeps the intended size?

Can we change the decimal point to either not round or have a longer decimal before it rounds.

Any help would be much appreciated

TOPICS
Draw and design , Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Apr 10, 2020 Apr 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Precision is determeined by AI's underlying DPI-based calculations and of course a lower DPI may expose quantization errors. UI beautification is another thing. That aside, if you're expecting CAD-level precision from AI, then maybe you have opted for the wrong tool in the first place. It's just not what AI is designed for. In any case, you won't know until you have imported the files into your plotting/ milling software.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, StewartPDaso.
Illustrator files are described in terms of points.