• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Difficulty copying and pasting an image from my EPS file in Illustrator that has this box around it.

Participant ,
Oct 20, 2020 Oct 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am very new to Illustrator, so I may need step-by-step instructions or a simplified explanation of what to do here. What I want to do is to grab one part of the vector images that I placed onto Illustrator via an EPS file (in this case, the red flower), however I am unable to select and copy and paste that image into a new artboard. It seems as though an entire section has this box around it and this box is selecting a group of elements which a small part of the flower is a part of, making me unable to select the entire flower or delete anything that is around it that lies within this box.

How can I best able to just grab the entire flower itself and copy it and paste it onto a new Illustrator artboard?

Please let me know. I have included a screenshot.

Thanks so much.
Screenshot (2628).png

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Participant , Oct 22, 2020 Oct 22, 2020

Oh my Gosh, this is too funny ... I was trying to edit (copy and paste) from the EPS file that I had placed onto an Illustrator artboard. I am such a newbie with this, and I did not know that I needed to actually OPEN the EPS file and edit (copy and paste) elements from there. I did so just now, and it worked. I was able to select the entire flower and copy and paste it onto a new artboard.

Thanks so much for your help.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Oct 20, 2020 Oct 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied