• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

dpi help

New Here ,
Aug 25, 2020 Aug 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm new to this adobe forum and not sure how it works. I have a client who wants all of the files to be in dpi but I only see the ppi option in illustrator. How do I convert ppi to dpi? Or does it really matter? I see so many different answers on the web. He primarily needs the files for a website he is making so I don't think he would need dpi anyway but it would be nice to know how to change from ppi to dpi. Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've moved this from the Using the Community forum (which is the forum for issues using the forums) to the Illustrator forum so that proper help can be offered.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

DPI is Dots Per Inch which is a Printing term.

Your Client doesn't know what they are asking.

Knowledge is a terrible thing. The Lack there of is even worse.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

s,

Further to what Ed said, D in DPI is for dots, P in PPI is for pixels.

So, at least on the surface, for your purpose, DPI = PPI.

However, it is quite possible that the DPI/PPI requirement is something that will hinder the right solutions.

"He primarily needs the files for a website he is making"

The primarily part may be devious and ruin the other uses, and sometimes the designer must (try to) rescue the client from himself.