Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help - switching to illustrator - canvas size and image output size

Community Beginner ,
Aug 18, 2020 Aug 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I've been using photoshop for around 12 years, despite having illustrator as every time I open it, it whips me. But I need to learn how to use illustrator. Till now, we have been using photoshop for doing things like text logo's which I think must be crazy and rubbish. So I'm going to learn Illustrator, but goodness it is hard (for me at least). I haven't found anything in the docs or support that addresses this, but I have looked.

My current dilemma is really basic. In photoshop, we need to create a logo 1200 x 200 - simple - set canvas size, and all good. Resulting image is 1200 x 200.

In illustrator I can't work it out. I've tried setting artboard size, but when it comes to save for web and devices it just crops 'canvas' to tight around the content - so no correct size and no white space.

At a conceptual level, what workflow should I use to create an output that is 2000px wide x 1200px high, in high res, in a web usable format. Do I have to draw a background rectangle 2000px x 1200px before adding actual image to it?

Any help gratefully received.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 18, 2020 Aug 18, 2020

In the Save for Web settings, there is an option to use the artboard size:

Annotation 2020-08-18 111838.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In the Save for Web settings, there is an option to use the artboard size:

Annotation 2020-08-18 111838.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines