• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Hex color codes changing when I export a document out of Illustrator to PNG.

Explorer ,
Oct 16, 2020 Oct 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there!  I'm fairly new to Illustrator.

I'm having some issues when working with files in Illustrator and then exporting it as a PNG.  I have specific color codes that I use in CMYK color mode, however when I export the file out of Illustrator as a PNG and then open it in Photoshop, the hex color codes are all slightly changed.

So for example let's say that I'm making something in Illustrator and I'm using the basic black hex #000000.  When I pick that color in illustrator and design whatever I'm designing.....then export that file as PNG.  When I open it over in Photoshop the black hex # is no longer 000000 but has been changed slightly to Hex #070909.  I realize it's still black, but what am I doing wrong to cause it to change slightly?

I realize this is likely a color management thing...but I'm confused.  Both in illustrator and in photoshop the document color settings are set to CMYK and my color profile settings are synced in bridge to N. America General Purpose 2 and the color management settings are set to preserve embedded profiles.

Can someone explain why the color codes are changing slightly?  Again...I'm a newbie so it's probably very likely user error!  ðŸ™‚

Thanks so much!!

TOPICS
Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Oct 16, 2020 Oct 16, 2020

If you use a lot of Pantone colors, matching them will be very difficult if not impossible.