• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I go about learning how to write scripts for illustrator?

Explorer ,
Nov 24, 2020 Nov 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi community

A beginner here.

â‘  How do I go about learning how to write scripts for illustrator?
â‘¡ What sources are there for this?
â‘¢ How long does it take to become proficient at this (a guesstimate)?
â‘£ What advice do you give to a beginner?

muchas gracias

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

To answer 1. and 2.:
The scripts brought by the application itself, for example
Illustrator-Installation/Scripting/Sample Scripts/JavaScript
are in fact some kind of teaching-book.
Take a look at the source, it's well documented.
However the examples are not in any order of complexity.
The short ones give you a good insight how wide spead the themes are.
3. It depends on your time and energy. It feels like I am still a noob.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Nov 26, 2020 Nov 26, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks.  I will check them out. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome to the "quest". I've been trying to learn how to script for Illustrator for about 2+ years. This is after 32 years of using Illustrator.