How to Join Letters to a shape for Laser Cutting

New Here ,
Oct 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We make sign art and other items at a small company. I wanted to get away from the complicated CAD program and use Illustrator since it can export as DXF and such anyways. I want to easily join letters to a shape to make a sign so that the letters are not free floating and fall apart after cutting.

I tried adding the letters to a shape and then "create outlines". What it seemed to do is make the shape a "cut line" as well so the laser ended up cutting the font off the shape. It appears just telling it to "join" does not overlap the letters and join them to the shape.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I am new to illustrator in this aspect. cut lines.jpg

Most Valuable Participant
Correct answer by Jacob Bugge | Most Valuable Participant

Austin,

As Monika said, you will have to Type>Create Outlines first, then select everything and Pathfinder>Unite (and punch the holes in the lower part if not done already).

You are just leaving out the first step in her instruction.

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

How to Join Letters to a shape for Laser Cutting

New Here ,
Oct 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We make sign art and other items at a small company. I wanted to get away from the complicated CAD program and use Illustrator since it can export as DXF and such anyways. I want to easily join letters to a shape to make a sign so that the letters are not free floating and fall apart after cutting.

I tried adding the letters to a shape and then "create outlines". What it seemed to do is make the shape a "cut line" as well so the laser ended up cutting the font off the shape. It appears just telling it to "join" does not overlap the letters and join them to the shape.