• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to manage illustrator and photoshop files placed in indesing and exported to pdf for small size

New Here ,
Jun 11, 2020 Jun 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there, 

I am an urban designer and I am frequently working on documents in Ai and PSD and PDF files (placed later on in InDesign book, about 100 - 200 pages, each page contains one or more Ai or PSD files).

The files I am working on are large but mostly done in illustrator for the benefit of the vector-based drawings but I am also using photoshop files when other images are needed. 

My workflow looks as follows:

1. I am creating illustrator, photoshop, pdf files

2. I am creating InDesign book and placing the above files into InDesign with layer dependency enabled

3. I am adding all relevant text in the InDesign book. 

4. Exporting the whole book to pdf file for sharing.

5. And printing the whole document as a hard copy for submissions.

After all that process, I am ending up with a huge pdf file that crashed in the Acrobat Reader.

Even if I will try the reduce the file size in Acrobat it is still very big and very hard to print.

My question is, does anyone know any process I can follow in terms of saving all types mentioned before along the way, in order to get a reasonably sized pdf file, rather than a huge, chunky problem to manage?

I understand that this might not be a question directly posted to Ai users but maybe someone can have an idea how to handle this problem.

Thank you guys so much.

Kamila 

TOPICS
Import and export , Performance , Print and publish

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer