Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to read values of an imported CSV in Illustrator

New Here ,
Oct 12, 2020 Oct 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to scripting in Illustrator and I can't seem to figure out this simple thing:

I have a .csv file that contains several variables. One the variables would be mapColor. In the csv I put 'mapColor' in row 1 and the corresponding value (a string containing a hex value) in the rows underneath. 

Programmatically I would like to access the mapColor values, so that I can assign a hex value to the background of a path item. But I can't seem to get the values of a specific variable.

const country = app.activeDocument.pathItems.getByName('country-fill-is');

const rgbValues = hexToRgb(`#${app.activeDocument.variables.getByName('mapColor')}`);
const colorRGB = new RGBColor();
color.red = rgbValues.r;
color.green = rgbValues.g;
color.blue = rgbValues.b;

country.fillColor = color;

function hexToRgb(hex) {
  const result = /^#?([a-f\d]{2})([a-f\d]{2})([a-f\d]{2})$/i.exec(hex);
  return result ? {
    r: parseInt(result[1], 16),
    g: parseInt(result[2], 16),
    b: parseInt(result[3], 16)
  } : null;
}

I would think I'd get the variable object value with variables.getByName(), but it only returns the variable name. Any ideas on how to get an object value by variable name?

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Valorous Hero , Oct 12, 2020 Oct 12, 2020

Are you using the variable data feature with the datasets, or do you want to read from a csv directly?